I Feel All ‘Sploited…

April 9, 2007 at 2:50 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Caught “Grindhouse” over the weekend, and was pretty much floored by all 3-and-a-quarter-hours of it. The film is built around the gimmick of reproducing the 70s double-features of exploitation genre films shown at cut-rate theaters. The film does a remarkably good job at capturing the feel of 70s B-movies and it was very enjoyable. While I was reading about the movie (and how it did so poorly over the weekend) I found (via wikipedia of course,) an interesting quote by Tarantino from a Rollingstone article,

CGI for car stunts doesn’t make any sense to me—how is that supposed to be impressive? […] I don’t think there have been any good car chases since I started making films in ’92—to me, the last terrific car chase was in Terminator 2. And Final Destination 2 had a magnificent car action piece. In between that, not a lot. Every time a stunt happens, there’s twelve cameras and they use every angle for Avid editing, but I don’t feel it in my stomach. It’s just action.”

Bold words from QT, and I’ve been saying that the Death-Proof case is one of the best car-chases in recent memory, and perhaps it is the best chase since ’92… What else has there been? The only ones that come to mind for me right now are: Frankenheimer’s masterful case in “Ronin,” the finale of Greengrass’s “Bourne Supremacy,” and of course the freeway sequence from “The Matrix Reloaded” (which may have been loaded w/ CG but I certainly felt that in my stomach.)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Let’s go see it again! It was so awesome!

  2. The best car chase ever was in the film “Short Time” with Dabney Coleman. Not a great film, but the car chase was awesome.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

