Meme me

October 22, 2007 at 10:48 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Over at I Fought the Law, Matt has a post about cleaning his trunk.  During this purge he runs across the “oldest material possession, or at least the thing that [he’s] owned for the longest time” and I thoguth this might be a nominally interesting blog-meme for our little corner of blogistan.  So, what is the THING that you have POSSESSED for the longest amount of time (hereafter referred to as ‘OMP’)?

I’m a bit of a packrat, and have a few contenders.  I have a  journal that I’ve owned and used off-and-on since I was 12 (1990,) I have a Swiss Army Knife that probably dates to around the same time, but I believe my OMP would be “A Field Guide to Insects” that I would pour over when visiting my Nonie in Louisiana as a very young (5? 6?) boy.   I’ll try and take a picture of it this evening.

Your turn.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I would guess my pink shirt with the horse on it that my dad silk screened many years ago and I inherited from my mom sometime in high school… so while i have had it for ten+ years, it has been in the family for more than 20.

    other than that, the pink mickey mouse shirt i got in solvang is still in my possession (and still gets worn!), and i got that on a trip to solvang when my dad still worked for lockheed, which he stopped doing when i was 13. So at least 15 years.

  2. I really don’t like the word meme… just a thought. I actually have nothing to ad to the conversation.

  3. OMP-ed!

  4. The oldest thing I have that comes to mind is a “Strato Bank”. Check eBay if you want to see what it is. When I was a kid I think it belonged to my brother, but possesion is 9 tenths…….. I feel like I should send it to him now that I’m feeling guilty.

  5. Oh yeah! I remember that thing!

    I remember playing with that as a child!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

